Awards History

Dr. F.H. Teahan Chapter Award

Sponsored by Champions for PRSSA, the Dr. F.H. Teahan Chapter Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of PRSSA chapters in 12 categories each year. Listed below are the years and categories that the BYU chapter has been recognized.

  • 2018 Chapter Website, Community Service
  • 2017 Outstanding Chapter
  • 2016 University Service
  • 2012 Chapter Newsletter
  • 2011 PRSA/PRSSA Relationship
  • 2010 Outstanding Chapter
  • 2008 Chapter Newsletter

Star Chapter Award

The Star Chapter Award is a distinction that chapters of any size can earn by meeting specific chapter and professional development goals. Listed below are the years that the BYU chapter was recognized with a Star Chapter Award.

  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016

Bateman Case Study Competition

This is the PRSSA premier national case study competition for public relations students. The competition gives students an opportunity to apply classroom education and internship experience to create and implement a full PR campaign.

  • 2017 Honorable Mention (2 teams)

Pacesetter Chapter Recognition

The Pacesetter recognizes a chapter’s success in the areas of membership, national participation and/or chapter development.

  • 2016

Other Awards and Competitions


Colin Wylie: National President’s Citation, National Gold Key, Axia Public Relations Scholarship, Robin M. Urbanski Memorial Scholarship


Taylor Brown: Ethics Case Competition Winner

Andrew Cook: National President’s Citation


Ethan Parry: National Gold Key


Philip Volmar: National Gold Key


Nick Barnes: National Gold Key


Michelle Treasure: National Gold Key


Jonathan Bacon: National Gold Key


“PRSSA is an opportunity for students to build their network and career beyond the classroom. Through this experience I have made good friends and contacts in states across the country. These people could one day be my coworkers or bosses.”


Colin Wylie, recipient of the 2018 National Gold Key, National President’s Citation, Axia Public Relations Scholarship and the Robin M. Urbanski Memorial Scholarship.